Skip to content

Proms 1 – 10

July 25, 2008

I suspect I may possibly have had a Proms overload these past few days. Last year I attended around about four concerts. I’ve attended as many in the first week this year.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not being smug about it. Just really did think I ought to make the effort this year given that I spend so much time banging on about to all and sundry. What I fear now is that I’m boring myself even thinking about them. Maybe I need a night off.

I had originally thought I’d write something after every concert but, to be completely honest, by the time I’ve finished attending, travelling home or listening to a gig then ruminating about it I’m pretty much a) sick of the Proms and b) keen to go to sleep.

Consequently, all I’d like to say in reference to the end of the first week of the Proms is that I’ve enjoyed them very much thus far – First night Strauss Festival Prelude, Messiaen organ stuff on Monday and definitely the Vaughan Williams from Prom 10. The cup-of-tea-all-over-my-jeans incident in the bar before the first Prom is now a distant memory. With only sixty-five other concerts to go before the end of the season you’ll all be pleased to hear that I promise not to go on about them too much longer. *

* Unless of course you take a look at my Flickr account. I figure it’s OK for me to obsess about the Proms there.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

