Skip to content

London 2012: Team GB return

August 25, 2008

For all my sniping about our ability to present a suitably gripping Olympics in 2012 and despite my lack of interest in sport (except for the sight of the sportsmen themselves), I did end up feeling rather excited about the prospect of Team GB returning to the UK today.

It was billed on the BBC website. I’m a sucker for anything broadcast live and in light of our surprising performance in the Beijing Olympics, perhaps it wasn’t really that surprising I ended up feeling really rather proud of our boys and girls.

Well done to them. And pity Lord Coe – he looked and sounded absolutely exhausted when he stepped back on to British soil – who not only had the Olympics to deal with in the run up to the handover but also suffered the death of his father in early August 2008.

Comments are closed.

