Skip to content

Christmas: Research

October 20, 2008

Baking, originally uploaded by Thoroughly Good.

Since returning from holiday, I’ve set my sights on one very important goal.

It may seem to early to be thinking about it, but as much as people want to deny it Christmas is coming.

With such an important celebration coming up, some individuals find shameless self-gratification in the creation of a whole variety of foodstuffs we wouldn’t otherwise eat ourselves or offer up as gifts to friends of family.

Those same people suddenly start poring over recipe books in a bid to find the formula for the perfect Christmas. If we can only find the perfect recipe we could, potentially, give the perfect gift.

According to Delia Smith, I should technically be starting the prep for the stalwart Christmas cake on Thursday night. Brilliant. I rub my hands together with glee. I get to start the cooking process on Thursday night. I can’t wait.

Then there’s the preserves (apparently, again according to Delia, these have to be left in a cupboard for three months before consumption) and sundry sweet titbits.

All of this adds up hours of baking joy to be had in the run up to the main event.

Normally I’m foaming at the mouth when I clap eyes on wrapping paper or gift catalogues or big expensive gifts showcased in high street stores and internet websites. But where food is concerned, forward planning is not only fun and acceptable but advisable to.

Such a shame that work is getting in the way.

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Christmas: Research | Bookmarks URL

Comments are closed.

