Skip to content

Bob Shennan @ Radio 2

January 27, 2009

News that Bob Shennan takes over as Radio 2 and 6 Music controller reminds me of an email he received from me when I was even more enthusiastic and considerably more naiive than I am now.

Desperate to make an impression and exploit my recently acquired radio production skills, I emailed the then Controller of Radio 5 Live with a typically charming introduction.

“I’ve got some ideas for packages for 5 Live but I’m not entirely sure who to get in touch with about them. Is there some kind of ‘ideas bucket’ I can throw mine into?” I asked.

His reply was concise.

“I’ve never been described as an ‘ideas bucket’ before. However, the person you need to speak to would be me.”

You won’t be surprised to learn that my cracking ideas never made it to air.

2 Comments
  1. Ouch! You’d have thought that with an enthusiastic approach like that he would have given you a less dismissive response.

  2. Ouch? Nah. I wasn’t offended in the slightest. I certainly didn’t read it as dismissive, more amusing. Email is the worst communication tool for tricking the writer into a dangerous assumption of familiarity. Anyway – just think how I’ll be able to exploit when I start hanging around his office at Broadcasting House 😉

Leave a Reply

