Skip to content

Radio highlights: Sat 21 – Fri 27 Feb 2009

February 20, 2009

From my big bucket of radio titbits (well, let’s be honest, I usually only listen to Radio 3 or 4) I offer the following

The Saturday Play: The Lady In The Van
Saturday 21 February 2009, 2.30pm
Those frightfully important people at Radio 4 know only too well that Saturday afternoons are the best time to get stuck into a juicy play. Alan Bennett’s autobiographical play features this afternoon starring Maggie Smith. We love Maggie Smith, we do. >>
 Review [The Stage]

Desert Island Discs: David Walliams
Sunday 22 February 2009, 11.15am

There’s a cartoon picture of Little Britain star David Walliams in the Radio Times this week sporting a swimming cap. It reminds me of his Comic Relief effort to swim the channel for charity. That reminds me of a possible reason why Mr Walliams is on DiD. Comic Relief will soon be upon us … 

Archive on 4: Agony 
Saturday 21 February 2009, 8pm
You’d think I’d have a life and not be in on a Saturday night. Well, I don’t. So given that I’ll be in I’ll be listening to Jenny Murray explore the world of agony aunts and uncles, quite possibly because I did at one point in my teenage years engage in an exchange of letters with an agony aunt. (Be sure to listen to the full version on iPlayer if you miss it at transmission).

Drama on 3: The Time Machine
Sunday 22 February 2009, 8pm

Memories of reading HG Wells’ classic tale during english classes at school come flooding back whenever I think of The Time Machine. Now there’s a radio play even longer than the Saturday Play for me to indulge in. Nice. >> Review [The Stage]

It’s My Story: the Boxing Civil Servant
Monday 23 February 2009, 8pm

What posessed a 50-year old Department of Transport civil servant to launch herself into boxing promotion exactly? Journalist Jackie Ashley finds out. I hope the billing in the Radio Times doesn’t let me down.  

Cabin Pressure
Tuesday 24 February 2009, 6.30pm
Radio 4 Controller recently defended the number of repeats on the network on his shiny new blog. He seemed rather robust. Personally, I don’t mind repeats on Radio 4 so long as that which is repeated is good. Gentle and corny stuff in this series being rerun from July 2008. 

Seven Days
Thursday 26 February 2009, 8pm

Interesting piece of swiftly-turned around 30 minute radio journalism following people who have suffered as a result of the economic crisis in Stoke on Trent.

Afternoon Play: This Repulsive Woman
Friday 27 February 2009, 2.15pm

A fictional story inspired by recent events recorded the week before transmission. Impressive. 

The Verb
Friday 27 February 2009, 9.15pm
Yet more drama for me this week with an edition of Radio 3’s The Verb featuring new short radio dramas sourced from the BBC Writersroom initiative.  


From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for plugging “Lady in the Van”–Mr. Bennett is a terrific writer and diarist and I relish the opportunity to tune in all the way from the plains of western Canada, thanks to the marvels of technology.

    I’m a huge fan of radio drama–a dying art form, at least over here–and recently posted about it. Good to know there are still like-minded people out there. I fear, however, we are very much in the minority…

  2. The Lady In The Van was truly great stuff. Haven’t managed to catch any of the others on your list, but I shall put them in my queue…

Leave a Reply

