Skip to content

Radio Highlights: Saturday 14 – Friday 18 March

March 13, 2009

A seriously cut down list on last week’s extensive homework …

Mark Steel’s in Town \ Radio 4 \ Wednesday 18 March \ 6.30pm
I spent an afternoon in the company of a former Radio 4 news editor extolling the virtues of radio over TV to an assembled crowd of shiny journalism trainees. It was a joy to listen to and reaffirmed my love affair with the medium. I’m hoping for lots of ambient sound, storytelling and useful reminder of what makes good radio in this particular piece about what makes the town of Skipton in Yorkshire distinctive, presented by Mark Steele. I hope I’m not disappointed. 

Woman’s Hour  \ Radio 4 \Thursday 19 March \ 10.00am
Nora and Mira Award the Israeli/Arab-Israeli singing duo controversially representing Israel at Eurovision 2009 entry is focussed on in Woman’s Hour. Good to get some analysis of their contribution in on Radio 4. 

Crossing ContinentsIsrael’s Goodness Gracious Me \ Radio 4 \ Thursday 19 March \ 11.00am
With Israel & Eurovision appearing on Woman’s Hour before it, I’ve been hooked into a subject I would normally dismiss because I’m turned off by how complicated it is. Mukul Devichand seeks out contributions from the cast and writers of an Israeli TV comedy which picks out the humouress side of Arab lives in Israel. Interesting and challenging.  

 

If it turns out my conservative estimates as to how much radio time I have available this week change, I’ll update it here. So be sure to bookmark and check back. 

 


 


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

