Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Latvia

May 1, 2009

READ REVIEWS: Semi-Final One | Semi-Final Two | Grand Final

SONG REVIEW | REHEARSAL NOTES | PERFORMANCE NOTES

REHEARSAL NOTES

It’s a little difficult to be positive about this when it’s the first thing you’ve heard fifteen minutes after you’ve woken up. I do like the graphics. I like the graphics a lot. 

SONG REVIEW

 

I can see what’s going to happen with this one in Moscow, almost as though I’m in rehearsals. Someone somewhere is going to tell the lead in this band that yes, it’s really working and what you need to do is to over emphasise the facial expressions a little more and make singing it look more of a painful experience.

Something kicks in during the chorus which makes it ever so slightly engaging and there are moments where I’m thinking that this is a credible song. But by the end I have grown sick of the seemingly constant repetition of the chorus.

It does tick that box marked “different and plausible” however, something Latvia has succeeded in doing over a number of years since they started participating in the event. Audiences won’t sneer at this, I don’t think.

One Comment
  1. Chris permalink

    This one just doesn’t speak to me. Not sure why. Some Brechtian Verfremdungseffekt kicks in and I’m put at a great distance from it. I can’t see it appealing to many people.

Leave a Reply

