Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Cyprus

May 2, 2009

READ REVIEWS: Semi-Final One | Semi-Final Two | Grand Final

SONG REVIEW | REHEARSAL NOTES | PERFORMANCE NOTES

REHEARSAL NOTES

Roll up! Roll up! Here’s Christine Metaxa with her revolving illuminated boxes. If I can get past the fact that there are moments towards the end when it feels as though her dancers look like they’re moving furniture, the stage presentation appears to have lost the overt Alannis Morrisette feel. Thank God the band aren’t there. I may possibly have changed my mind about this as a result. I’m fickle like that. 

SONG REVIEW

 

I fear I have to be damning in my appraisal of Cyprus’ contribution to the Eurovision canon this year. My unwavering opinion is estbalished during the first few seconds of the performance when Christine Metaxa’s soft, slightly shakey voice hovers over the oh so familiar instrumental accompaniment. This song makes me think of only one thing: Ironic by Alannis Morrisette.

This is not plagiarism however. I’ve lost count of the number of times in years gone by some twerp from somewhere in Europe has stepped up to the sacrifical stone slab in the cathedral of Eurovision and pronounced that some country or other has plagiarised another country’s song from some point in the past in pursuit of the big trophy. It’s a tiresome argument. Some of us roll our eyes.

Plagiarism is by and large a PR thing. It’s a way of getting people talking about a particular song or country over another. In the run up to the main event seemingly desperate PR companies will stop at nothing to get their song higher up the agenda. Although this in itself is all relative after all. The friends who came round last night to watch Jonathan Ross with me and The Chap didn’t know who the UK’s Jade Ewen was until I told them. I do have to get these things in perspective.

What I’m finding annoying is how Cyprus’ song is imitative. I do rather like Alannis Morrisette and her sound, but to see something like Morrissette’s work performed by a someone who isn’t Morrisette leaves me feeling a bit cold. The song’s OK but I don’t want to feel irritated when I watch it. And I am – I’m sorry to say – irritated by it.

One Comment
  1. Chris permalink

    Sorry this song just bores me rigid. I don’t think she’s that much of a singer, and I kind of resent the fact that it won the Cyprus final when there was a much better entry from Alex Panaya. Next please…..

Leave a Reply

