Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Slovakia

May 2, 2009

READ REVIEWS: Semi-Final One | Semi-Final Two | Grand Final

SONG REVIEW | REHEARSAL NOTES | PERFORMANCE NOTES

REHEARSAL NOTES

She looks gorgeous and he looks better with slightly less greased back hair and no off-pink shirt but sadly this song is doomed. It still does little for me and I know come the night I won’t be able to wait until the next one. There is also the potential for some really quite awful top notes. Get some early nights in love and don’t be persuaded to go to any parties. I very much hope I haven’t damaged relations with Slovakia saying that either. 

SONG REVIEW

 

I should be nice. I ought to be nice. It’s far too easy to be disparaging about a Eurovision song. Being nice is both challenging and should pretty much guarantee a better image formed in the mind of the reader. With this in mind I turn to Slovakia’s entry -Leť tmou sung by Kamil Mikulčík and Nela Pocisková – and hope I can achieve something positive.

This is high drama indeed. It’s smoldering intensity makes me think of secret mountain hideaways visited in the dead of night by a man dressed in black leaving a box of chocolates and a business card marked “Milk Tray”. It’s red wine and roaring fires. It’s agony and ecstasy. It’s misunderstandings. It’s painful goodbyes. It’s a Sunday afternoon black and white romance with a big box of Kleenex.

The song also leaves one fundamental question in my mind. What was the melody? I can’t remember it. It doesn’t stick in my head. Put a gun to my head and demand I whistle the melody and I’m going to struggle. Kamil and Nela’s performances are very good – I’m not entirely convinced about the high notes at the end – but the melisma masks the melody so much I’ve no idea where we’re going during it or where we’ve arrived when it finishes. 

I fear it may get lost in the melee. People will remember the up-tempo numbers more than the ballads on Thursday 14 May and if that’s the case I suspect the Slovakian may be packing their bags early (assuming they weren’t intending on gate-crashing the wrap party regardless of whether they sung in the final anyway).

One Comment
  1. Chris permalink

    Song? What song? I never heard a song…. did I?

    I’m afraid this is the kind of Eurovision entry that I never play. It’s almost like a religious observance. Dramatic couple singing about something very dramatically. *Yawn*

Leave a Reply

