Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: France

May 5, 2009

REHEARSAL NOTES

There’s nothing remarkable to say about this particular performance other than the fact the French delegation appears to have kept things fairly simple. My views on Patricia Kaas and her appearance on the Eurovision stage after a career spanning 25 years have swayed me a little in my take on this song, it has to be said. But if I cast that out of my mind I do still genuinely like the sound of the song and I haven’t grown tired of it yet. It’s also going to be quite refreshing to see some relatively stow moving shots on screen. I really can’t see it doing that badly. 

SONG REVIEW

I love being subjective. Blogging college taught me to adopt a personal tone but not be personal. Frankly, I think that’s rot. Being personal and subjective is the way forward. Who really cares about balance ? People want to know what other people think.

Thus I find it difficult to say anything more about this year’s French entry delivered by the smoldering Patricia Kaas than to say it is utterly, utterly brilliant. Take it from me, anyone who says otherwise is wrong (though not discouraged from saying so on this blog).

I’m not entirely clear on exactly what the ingredients are which make me jump up and down like a queen. Maybe it’s the haunting echoes of seedy old piano bars, or the achingly melancholic chord progressions. Or maybe it’s just the fact that it’s so brilliantly simple it gets me so very excited. It’s definitely one for the parents and the grandparents I reckon. So if we’re wanting France to win, I reckon we need to be pulling in the relatives votes on the big night. What Patricia Kaas having an established career (with an album out “coiincidentally”) who knows, maybe the expert jury will be on her side too.

Like Germany, the UK, Spain and last year’s winners Russia, France don’t have to battle it out with the rest of Europe for a place in the final. That could be seen as a disadvantage what with nearly everyone else in the final having experienced at least one other performance in front of a big crowd in a live broadcast.

However, with something as fine as this I hope to God noone thinks introducing a handful of dancers to “spice things up” in Moscow. I picture her on a stage with a microphone on a stand with a blank backdrop.

I can’t wait.

4 Comments
  1. Chris permalink

    I love the start of it. The start of it I love. Those plinky-plonk piano notes, and the gentle brushing of the drums. Her wonderful voice, a bit like Marianne Faithfull would have sounded like without quite so many drugs and cigarettes. But then after a while, I want it to go somewhere else. But it steadfastly refuses to. So I come away feeling a bit cheated.

    But I am well aware it is my lack of taste.

  2. bribarker permalink

    Congratulations to Patricia Kaas, for translating her entry into Esperanto.

    Click on http://dotsub.com/view/482751e0-bb56-4022-9423-c60b646b73f6 to see the Esperanto version.

  3. Steve permalink

    Presenting this to Eurovision tele-voters is ‘casting pearls before swine’ , I fear. And besides it has the ‘draw of death’, second on. But it oozes class and well, Frenchness and I love it.
    Let’s hope they keep it simple and don’t borrow the Bulgarian jugglers on stilts or Slutlana’s Hell Machine and let’s just pray that, for once, class wins through.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Eurovision 2009: Germany « Thoroughly Good Blog

Leave a Reply

