Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Spain

May 5, 2009

READ REVIEWS: Semi-Final One | Semi-Final Two | Grand Final

SONG REVIEW | REHEARSAL NOTES | PERFORMANCE NOTES

PERFORMANCE NOTES

SEMI-FINAL

A perfectly fine and perfectly well executed song which goes down pretty well even if it isn’t jaw-droppingly amazing. The truth is however that after the appearance of the UK at song 23 I am unlikely to pay very much attention to anything until the voting kicks in. 

REHEARSAL NOTES

FIRST REHEARSAL

If you naturally gravitate to passing judgement on someone else’s hard work in a slightly sneery way you’ll no doubt understand why I continue to pedal a fairly arrogant image of myself when I pass judgement on what amounts to TV production. I should make it quite clear. I know absolutely nothing about TV production. I’ve never done it. I’ve no idea who exactly you have to keep sweet, who you have to pay or who you have to sleep with in order to make things happen. I do however know what I like. And its for that reason alone I consider it fine to pass judgement – another reminder of why I love this annual musical TV extravaganza.

Spain’s act is one to keep an eye on then. Not necessarily because I have some kind of insider information about it romping home to a surprise victory, more to see how it might develop. The current stage performance opens well with a tasty backdrop which provides the best contrast for Soraya’s blonde hair and stunning looks. She also looks pretty damn fine in that skirt and those heels. I’m not normally concerned with such things, but the combination of those graphics, her outfit and her looks means she looks convincing on screen – especially in the relatively static head and shoulders shots – and when she moves around she really owns the stage. 

What needs work is the harmonies. Occasionally when her and her team are leaping around the stage the close and vital harmonies are lost as the singers find themselves landing on the wrong note. It’s not in any way offensive on the ears just ever so slightly distracting. With the harmonies nailed down, the melody will be secure and Soraya’s commanding presence on stage and on screen will be undeniable. 

I’m not entirely clear why she does that pseudo-sexual kneeling in the imaginary sandy beach bit during the slow middle-eight and I do rather think the male dancers want to stop bouncing around as that changes the style of the choreography somewhat. All things which might be interesting to observe come the second rehearsal and performance. And of course, if those changes are implemented and my concerns ironed out I will take the glory for that. That’s how self-absorbed I am. 

SONG REVIEW

“Come on an chase me.” sings Soraya in this utterly convincing Meditarranean sounding track which seems to be getting the well behaved studio audience leaping up and down with delight. I’m delighted to confirm that the same illness befalling some other audiences which sees them clapping at an artist hitting any note let alone the top night hasn’t reached Spain. We love the Spanish.

This is a great song and gets under your skin and, most importantly, ticks the box marked “does this song show you’re making an effort?” for one of the big four countries. In previous years the Big Four (Spain, UK, Germany and France) haven’t done quite so well, possibly because their songs haven’t been great. That’s not the case with the Big Four this year, but whether or not its enough to distract attention away from the big movers like Norway or Greece I’m not entirely sure. At this moment in time, I really can’t see it.

2 Comments
  1. Chris permalink

    She’s a fine figure of a woman, isn’t she…

    The song is ok. I get a bit bored with it to be honest. I hope it does well though. Being last on the night it will get a healthy load of votes, and I have a tenner on it each way at 50-1. I can see it being one of those songs that will be indispensable at a Eurovision disco in about 2016.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Eurovision 2009: Germany « Thoroughly Good Blog

Leave a Reply

