Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Semi-final One

May 12, 2009

[ A slightly less hysterical, more considered review of semi-final one is available here if you have the time to digest it. ]

POST-CONTEST

This is what I scribbled down when the bloke with the hair and the lady with the creamy looking dress said when they pressed their button and the envelopes revolved around the screen.

I can’t remember for sure. But I’m fairly certain this is what the result was. Check elsewhere for a definitive result.

Turkey, Sweden, Israel, Portugal, Malta, Finland, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Romania, Armenia and Iceland all got through to the final.

The process was exhausting – that tweeting idea made things overly stressful because of all sorts of reasons (God only knows what tomorrow at work will be like – not looking forward to that) – so I’m hoping Thursday will see me fail to deliver on the social networking aspect of this particular Eurovision in order to possibly “enjoy” the actual television programme.

It’s a television programme, after all.

PRE-CONTEST

With literally hours to go and people seemingly go dizzy with excitement on Twitter all during the day, there’s just time to commit my reckoning on whose going through and whose not from tonight’s semi-final.

I know damn well that a) noone’s really that interested b) the tension is quite enough without adding to it with some pesky list of the ones I want to see go through and c) the final list hurriedly read out by the hosts at the end of tonight’s show won’t bear any resemblance to what I’ve written down her. Still in a slightly obsessive kind of way I’d like to keep a record of what I thought this morning when I drew the list up.

If you can bear to watch the thing on TV with a laptop on your laptop, following some inane twittering from me at www.twitter.com/thoroughlygood or even browse to www.twitterfall.com, add “thoroughlygood” to the left hand search panel and see the messages scroll through automatically. On the other hand you may prefer not to do that and have a quiet night in with a take-away and a beer. Take your pick.

TO GO THROUGH (SOME MORE DESERVING THAN OTHERS)
Belgium
Sweden
Armenia
Andorra
Turkey
Iceland
Romania
Portugal
Malta
Bosnia & Herzegovina – because everyone says they’ll get through I suppose they should be on the list otherwise I’ll look like a fool.

THOSE WHO ARE OUT (SOME MORE DESERVING THAN OTHERS)
Czech Republic
Belarus
Switzerland
Israel
Bulgaria
FYR Macedonia

THE MOST DESERVING VOTE OF THE NIGHT
Armenia (obviously)

One Comment
  1. Chris permalink

    I’d love you to be right about Belgium but I really don’t think its gonna happen. I also think Sweden is going to be a white-out. I have a sneaky that Belarus and Israel will go through…

Leave a Reply

