Skip to content

Eurovision 2009: Semi-final Two

May 14, 2009

POST-CONTEST

Poor old Zoli from Hungary, his performance failed to make the grade when it came to the final voting. It was no surprise. Come the performance they all did look like a sack of potatoes. Still I remain committed to the song and will happily play it come the summer. 

Of the songs competing in the second semi-final, the following countries got through:

Croatia, Norway, Denmark, Azerbaijan, Greece, Lithuania, Moldova, Albania, Ukraine and Estonia. 

A pleasant surprise to see Croatia get through, hardly any surprise to see Greece and Norway pass through the turnstiles and I’m delighted to see Moldova win a place in the final. Estonia’s Urban Symphony played well on our 42″ plasma HD screen but just as I thought, Denmark Ronan impersonator Brinck was indescribably dull and quite what we were voting for when it came to Svetlana and her slightly cliched musclebound centurions I don’t know. The song or the act? Who knows. 


PRE-CONTEST

The second semi-final looks set to be far more entertaining than the first. Damn seemingly the rest of Europe for being able to vote in this one. Sadly the UK isn’t eligible to vote. Bah. 

In my grand list of those to go through and those to get the ignominious boot, the big surprise for me (well, relatively speaking anyway) is that Hungary’s Zoli almost certainly won’t go through. If that turns out to be the case we’ll be putting that down to the wardrobe issue. (Many people have mentioned to me that the elf’s outfit doesn’t work love and that you may have been better off with your gym wear.)

Greece must get through to the final otherwise there’ll be a rift in the space-time continuum and we’ll have to send John Barrowman out with his team of whatever they are to repair it. Nobody wants that, so on that basis I’m assuming Greece will go through. In fact, why bother with the semi? Maybe he should just go straight through on the basis of his unfeasibly wide stance and still quite strange-looking thrusting at the top of this number. 

Norway too will have to go through otherwise the entire competition will have to be called off and an international enquiry launched. I can see it now. 

Keep an eye out for Ukraine. I’ve got the apparently vital Anti-Crisis girl on the list just because my sneery nature knows that because I don’t like it doesn’t mean the rest of Europe doesn’t. Or, maybe there’ll be a surprise? Maybe the rest of Europe won’t be taken in by Svetlana with her sleazy boys with their hands framing their crotches? If they don’t I will raise an eyebrow. I’ll also feel a bit relieved. 

TO GO THROUGH (SOME MORE DESERVING THAN OTHERS)
Croatia
Ireland
Serbia
Poland
Norway
Cyprus
Greece
Lithuania
Moldova
Estonia

TO GO OUT (SOME MORE DESERVING THAN OTHERS)
Latvia
Slovakia
Denmark
Slovenia
Hungary
Azerbaijan
Albania
Netherlands

MOST DESERVING OF THE NIGHT (I WON’T BE ABLE TO VOTE FOR IT)
Moldova 

Check out all the song reviews here.

4 Comments
  1. Chris permalink

    Hmmmm.

    You’ve chosen some to go through who have performed very unevenly (that’s me being tactful) in rehearsals. I will be very surprised if Azerbaijan don’t go through. I think *if* Denmark go through they will do well with the Saturday evening family audience – unlikely to do so well with an “elite” fan audience on Thursday, but they might squeak through with the jury vote. I think Ireland won’t do it, but I’d like it if they did.

    I really hate the Ukrainian entry but it must go through as I have money on it.

  2. Lets hope you don’t lose any money tonight then Chris. 😉

  3. Tonight I’m going with:

    Norway
    Azerbaijan
    Denmark

    They’re all good acts.

    Special brothel award will go to Greence and Ukraine. The first is because of the chest pumping and the 2nd welll, because of the chest pumping.

  4. Chris permalink

    My money is still safe. I have each ways on Uk, Ukraine, Denmark and Spain and win bets on Malta and Norway….

    The assembled company is was with didn’t enjoy tonight’s show anything like as much as Tuesday’s. Probably says more about them than it.

    Congratulations on securing places for Moldova and Estonia. I knew you could do it.

Leave a Reply

