Skip to content

Miranda recommissioned

December 16, 2009

Miranda: (l-r) Gary (Tom Ellis), Penny (Patricia Hodge), Miranda Hart, Stevie (Sarah Hadland), Clive (James Holmes) (image: BBC/Adam Lawrence)

“I like it because it’s old school,” said Debbie the Shiatsu therapist who worked hard to iron out the neck pains I’d acquired in the run up to *that website launch*. “Miranda is funny. Miranda Hart is funny. It’s gentle and charming. The whole family watches it together.”

I sighed relief, in part as a result of the aches and pains eeking out of my body and also because it was a relief to hear someone else thinking the same as me.

“She seems to be able to execute the falling down joke very well without it ever getting tired,” I said, “Her stooge is funny and obviously brilliant. And the episode when she went on holiday in a hotel down the road .. that’s the kind of thing I’d entertain doing.”

There is undoubtedly a simplicity about the comedy, something which is immediately and engagingly refreshing. Whilst it appears simple and low-key, Hart’s frequent looks to camera must make filming each episode really quite demanding.

It is marvellous to hear of the series being recommissioned. Not only because the cast are good, the writing’s good and at least one member of the cast is easy on the eye, but because something fundamentally good has been brought back. Now the writers need to work their magic and come up with something as good, if not better. I’d hate to be blogging how my favourite thing on TV hit the rails in the second series. I’d be so embarrassed.

3 Comments
  1. Chris permalink

    Got as far as Episode 3, but I don’t think my goodladywife will go as far as Episode 4. We both agree that the characters and general feeling about the programme are great – but where we differ is that she finds the scripts boring. I kid you not. I don’t. She does.

  2. I think you’re in safe hands with Miranda … have a feeling that the second series will be as delightful as the first. Can’t wait.

  3. I’ve never seen it. I will certainly be watching next time it comes on. When’s it next on?

    A x

Leave a Reply

