Skip to content

Doctor Who: The Adventure Games

April 8, 2010

The news from the BBC Press Office about a downloadable Doctor Who game being made available soon did get me very excited indeed. It’s about time.

Oh my God. I can’t believe I’ve trotted out the season tagline – ‘it’s about time’ – without even realising it.

That aside, I suspect that at 38 years old I may be well outside of the target audience age range. It’s not going to be a game geared for me, I bet you. I could be wrong, of course.

I hope I’m wrong. Because the last Doctor Who game the BBC released – Destiny of the Doctors – was met with exactly the same enthusiasm by me when that came out in 1997.

I was 25 and I reckoned I was too old to play it then. Still, it didn’t matter particularly. My enthusiasm for that game quickly diminished when it became apparent that despite a well-specced PC (it needed Windows 95, remember that??!), the program wasn’t going to load let alone play.

There were some reasonably helpful instructions advising that in the event of a problem running the programme you should check your system, uninstall Destiny of the Doctors and then reinstall. If after that there was a problem the advice was to call the support line. I remember calling. I don’t remember getting any support. Some things haven’t really changed.

This rather negative experience aside, I’m still looking forward to the release of the new set of games. The graphics look superb. It marks a nice step forward, as Keith Stuart at the Guardian discusses.

2 Comments
  1. cyberguycalif permalink

    You remember all that from 1997, you are a fan. I don’t even remember 1997…..lol

  2. I am also 38.

    I am also almost certainly out of the target audience.

    This is not going to stop me playing them. 😉

Leave a Reply

