Skip to content

Eurovision 2010: Belgium

May 14, 2010

Tom Dice represents Belgium for this year’s Eurovision. He’s quite an interesting case study too. He’s one to watch.

He is credited with composing and writing the lyrics for his song Me and My Guitar. The cynic in me demands rather more proof of what exactly he’s contributed to the song. I know that’s harsh. Bear with me.

Tom is part of the X-Factor machine you see. A runner-up in 2008, he’s gone through that intensive performance boot-camp Simon Cowell has successfully imposed on wannabee performers and entertainment audiences the world over. His format has turned out some accomplished performers. That is something to be noted.

In a previous post I was impressed with the considerably improved cover Tom had recorded of Bleeding Love – a song I’d first been aware of as Leona Lewis’ first proper release approximately a year after the X-Factor bus had dropped her off at the Artist Development Central bus-stop. Lewis’ version had never really hooked me in. Dice’s rendition sounded like one considerable improvement.

Belgium’s song – Me and My Guitar – is nothing spectacular. I’ve heard that angst ridden American teenager sound somewhere before. In fact, in some respects it reminds me too much of Bleeding Love. His faux American accent jars. The whole package is just a little bit too polished for my liking. He’s not American. He’s from Belgium. It bothers me I’m being made to feel as though he is American. Am I being too picky? He is meant to be performer after all.

Dice will – I’m convinced of it – go through to the final and deserves to as well. And whatever his involvement in the song, he is clearly a performer who will continue to do well regardless of what he achieves via the Eurovision stage.

But should it win? I’m cautious about it. I don’t want something so-so to win. I want something fresh. This may not meet my exacting (but usually flawed) standards.

And yes, I know. I’m a miserable arsehole … or a picky queen.

Tom Dice in rehearsal for Eurovision 2010

6 Comments
  1. This is gonna win.

    • Oh well. If you say so. 😉

      *starts deleting all other reviews*

  2. *AND* his dad is very kind and drove two of my friends to the Antwerp concert a couple of weeks ago. AND he is (by all accounts) a very nice guy to boot.

    • *niceness* is not a pre-requisite Mr Poppe.

  3. Cindy permalink

    Hmmm… i actually heard about the same out of the mouth of someone in the UK about another belgium singer called Milow.
    “Belgium’s song – Me and My Guitar – is nothing spectacular. I’ve heard that angst ridden American teenager sound somewhere before. In fact, in some respects it reminds me too much of Bleeding Love. His faux American accent jars. The whole package is just a little bit too polished for my liking. He’s not American. He’s from Belgium. It bothers me I’m being made to feel as though he is American. Am I being too picky?” Why is it that when someone goes for that style of music mist of the brits turn off?
    Maybe not to picky but biased in any case, it’s clearly his style and he sings it with heart and soul, if you want an original style…try Peter Nalitch.
    I’m from Belgium, Tom sounds like home to me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Eurovision 2010: Semi-Final One « Thoroughly Good Blog

Leave a Reply

