Skip to content

Eurovision 2010: Moldova

May 15, 2010

I recently conversed with a friend who intentionally or otherwise slipped in a piece of advice which rings around my head every time I sit down to write something about every Eurovision song this year: if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all.

Except for saying that where Iceland excels with their club beat, Moldova fails miserably I’m afraid. Aside from the strange musical sax solo in between chorus and verse around 1’00 in, I’m finding myself pretty bored soon after this song begins.

Musically I feel like I’ve heard it all before. And there’s something seriously tired about that club sound when it’s not executed well. It feels almost a little bit cynical as though someone somewhere has said “that Eurovision – it’s a gay thing – lets give the gays what we think they must always do on a Friday night”.

I know. I know. I could have been nicer. I probably should have been nicer.

If it’s any consolation, I know this will come back and bite me on the arse sooner or later.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

