Skip to content

More tomato plant news

June 6, 2010

The plastic greenhouse has clearly been the right environment for the tomato plants. Every time I open up the flap to spray them with some water I’m met with that distinctive tomato plant smell.Very reminiscent of childhood. Love it. Quite something since the first growth appeared on 25 April.

Following advice from my mother, I’ve spent a bit of time nipping out the new growth at the top of the plants in a bid to strengthen each one up a bit.

But having taken the time to look at each one individually, I’m marvelling at how thick each stem is looking already. Bold little plants.

There’s still time to go before they’re planted out into the grow bags (and to be honest, I’m not entirely sure where I’ll put the grow bags when they are planted out – I may need to get a bigger greenhouse). The seed packet advises that they shouldn’t be planted out until they start flowering. I’m not sure I can wait. Surely they need to be in bigger pots or grow bags to encourage more growth? I’ll give it another week.

In other gardening news, I’ve retrieved the nasturtiums from the seed tray to the hanging baskets. Here I’m not entirely sure whether I’ve successfully transplanted them without damaging the seedlings – we’ll have to wait and see. But if they do manage to hold on, they should provide some much needed colour outside the backdoor.

One Comment
  1. cyberguycalif permalink

    If all those pots have tomato planets and if they all produce, you might have to start canning them.

    Good luck with them.

Leave a Reply

