Skip to content

A right little Suzie Homemaker

July 4, 2010

I’ve held off from spending Sunday in the garden this weekend.

I wanted a break from everything. Although – in truth – this only really meant me not thinking about work. It was a boon. I ended up recording a 3 minute podcast. Believe me, in production terms using AudioBoo and Audacity is a hell of a lot simpler than using Adobe Audition five years ago. My, how things have changed.

So keeping in mind that Mum and Dad are visiting next weekend and how my mother will want to administer her experience on the spindly tomato plants on the patio, I turned my attention to the kitchen.

It’s been an age since I’ve pottered. Chopping things up. Stirring. Seasoning. Tinkering. It’s all terribly reassuring. Perfect for a Sunday evening.

So this evening’s creation in my now favourite pan from John Lewis is meatballs in homemade tomato sauce.

A couple of packets of plum tomatoes, fried in olive oil with a few pinches of salt and some freshly-ground pepper. Add some crushed garlic (it will only get fried if you add it to the oil first). Leave that to steep with the lid of. Then add 450ml of vegetable stock and a tin of tinned tomatoes (no, really). Again, let it stew with the lid on. Pulp it with a blender, then add the meatballs. Finally, add the torn basil leaves and let the whole lot cogitate in the pan.

It’s gorgeous because I made it.

One Comment
  1. *dribble*

    That looks absolutely amazing. And deliciously simple too!

Leave a Reply

