Skip to content
Tags

,

Weak and Feeble

July 21, 2010

So, I caved in.

I did a spot of long overdue ‘let’s look at the finances’, sorted things out and then rewarded myself with a purchase I couldn’t afford justifying it with the dubious notion I somehow deserved it for being all adult. 

I bought a sodding iPad. Damn you Jobs.

There was a compliance process before this rather expensive investment. I called the Significant Other, asking him to sanity check what felt like an impulse purchase. “You so rarely buy something expensive for yourself. It’s OK to do this.”

So. Now. Only a few weeks after The Times paywall went up and I swore blind I wouldn’t be persuaded to ride the massive marketing wave accompanying Rupert Murdochs plans, I find myself confronting one of life’s very early lessons:

Never. Say. Never.

Yeah, go on. Mock me.  

3 Comments
  1. cyberguycalif permalink

    Don’t beat youself up for buying it Jon, just use it and enjoy it.

    I’m like you and rarely buy a big ticket item, so if something comes along that I would like I wait a week or so to think about it and usually buy it if it feels like the right thing to do. That’s how I got my iPod and I’m not big on portable music.

    Let us know what you think about it.

  2. Well why not? If it’s something you want and can pay off through work go for it!

    Hugs,

    A x

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Me and My iPad « Thoroughly Good Blog

Leave a Reply

