Skip to content

How to start your day

November 9, 2010

In my rush to get ready this morning, I caught sight of one of the hanging baskets outside the patio doors. I was a little taken aback. One of them seems to be sprouting bright orange flowers. In November. And vibrant little blooms they are too.

True, there are only two of them at the moment. But considering I haven’t watered either of the two hanging baskets for the past few months I’m impressed by their resilience.

They’re nasturtiums. Now as I read up about them a bit more I learn that they’re self-seeding. They’re hardy little buggers too.

I know they don’t look perfect close-up and their lurid orange colour might seem like they lack a little style. Even so, given how the temperature has plummeted just recently and how I’ve failed to give them any love, it’s clear they’re not going away. And in that respect, they’re not unlike me really.

From → Life & Society

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

